2020 Director’s Awards Winners

These awards are given by me at the Staff Development Day held each September to deserving staff members based on their service during the most recent fiscal year, which was July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020. In general these awards are intended to recognize our front line staff, so they will not generally be given to Managers.

Service Above & Beyond Award: Erin Dedin
Erin is an Adult & Teen Services Librarian at the Crest Hill Branch. This award is given to a staff member or members who went above and beyond over the course of the year. These are staff who have consistently out-performed their peers and consistently exceeded the basic expectations set forth in their job description.

Outstanding New Employee: Kiya Morrison
Kiya is the District’s Marketing & Graphic Design Coordinator. This award is given to the one new employee who quickly became an essential member of our staff and consistently exceeded expectations, especially for an employee with so little White Oak Library District experience.

Outstanding Employee in a Support Role: Kennedy Rodriguez
Kennedy is the District’s Head Custodian. This award is given to a staff member who has given outstanding service in every way that can be measured, and who serves in a support staff role.

Innovative Service Award: Jessica Smith
Jessica is Romeoville Branch’s Children’s Services Supervisor. This award is given to a staff member who has created something truly innovative (generally a large initiative), or they have consistently brought innovative solutions to problems facing them throughout the year.

Outstanding Ambassador Awards
This award is given to a staff member from each branch that, more than all others at their location, represented White Oak Library District in a warm, friendly, and professional manner. Winners of this award have demonstrated immense patience and poise when dealing with all manner of difficult situations. It might even be said that patrons remain patrons, and possibly even new patrons are gained, because of the performance of this award winner in the previous year.

  • Rose Leal, Crest Hill Branch Circulation Clerk
  • Sara Wright, Lockport Branch Circulation Clerk
  • Ariel Nelson, Romeoville Branch Adult & Teen Services Specialist

Leave a Reply